June 21 — When Christi Craddick nominated fellow railroad commissioner Wayne Christian to replace her as chairman this week, she was breaking with tradition: The chairmanship of the three-person commission, which regulates oil, gas and mining activity, typically goes to the member soonest to stand for re-election — and Ryan Sitton is due up in 2020.

— Austin American-Statesman