Statewide voter turnout was 52.5% as 8.29 million Texans voted in the General Election. As a comparison, just 4.6 million Texans voted in the 2014 General Election which was the last presidential mid-term election. Here is a quick recap of the General Election results across the U.S., and Texas:

Congressional Offices

Nationally, Democrats picked up 34 seats in the U.S. House and Republicans gained 3 seats in the U.S. Senate.

U.S. Senate

Incumbent Ted Cruz won with 50.93% of the vote as compared to Beto O’Rourke’s 48.2%.

U.S. Congress

The Texas Delegation has 36 members. Democrats flipped two seats by beating Republican incumbents. Collin Allred defeated Pete Sessions and Lizzie Fletcher beat John Culberson. The Texas delegation in the U.S. House is now has 23 Republican members and 13 Democratic members.

Statewide Offices

Republicans won every statewide office in Texas with margins from 50.85% (Attorney General Ken Paxton) to 56.08% (Gov. Greg Abbot).


Republican Greg Abbot received 55.84% of vote / Democrat Lupe Valdez received 42.46% of vote.


Republican Dan Patrick received 51.34% of vote / Democrat Mike Collier received 46.43% of vote.


Republican Ken Paxton (50.59%) beat Democrat Justin Nelson (46.97%).


Republican Glenn Hegar (53.23%) beat Democrat Joi Chevalier (43.35%).


Republican George P. Bush (53.74%) beat Democrat Miguel Suazo (43.13%).


Republican Sid Miller (51.3%) beat Democrat Kim Olson (46.36%).


Republican Christi Craddick (53.28%) beat Democrat Roman McAllen (44.18%).


Republican incumbents Jimmy Blacklock, John Devine, and Jeff Brown all won.


Courts of Appeals Justice positions in Austin, San Antonio, Dallas, Houston and Corpus Christi were all won by Democrats. Democrats won 32 contested elections and 20 Republican incumbent justices lost.


The Senate is currently 21 Republicans and 10 Democrats. Fifteen Senate seats were up for reelection. The Democrats flipped two seats. The final partisan break-down will be 19 Republicans and 12 Democrats (although one seat will be immediately vacated and not likely to be filled until a special election next year).

District 10 (Tarrant County)

Republican Konni Burton (48.28%) was beaten by Democrat Beverly Powell (51.71%).

District 16 (Dallas County)

Republican Don Huffines (45.93%) lost to Democrat Nathan Johnson (54.06%).

District 19 (Brewster and Reeves Counties)

One earlier note, on September 18, Pete Flores, the Republican candidate, won the Special Election for Texas Senate District 19 over Democrat Pete Gallego, the Democratic candidate. Flores received 52.9% of the vote (23,576) to Pete Gallego’s 47% (20,911). Texas Senate District 19 was formerly represented by State Senator Carlos Uresti who resigned earlier this year. Mr. Flores will serve the remaining two years of Senator Uresti’s term and will be up for re-election in 2020.


The House is currently 95 Republicans and 55 Democrats. The Democrats picked up 12 seats. As such, the split is now 83 Republicans to 67 Democrats. Incumbents who were beaten were Republican Paul Workman, Ron Simmons, Linda Koop, Rodney Anderson, Matt Rinaldi, Mike Schofield, Gary Elkins, and Tony Dale. Close races include Rep. Jonathon Stickland (District 92) who won with a plurality of 49.84% or 446 votes and Republican Morgan Meyer (District 108) who won by 440 votes.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Each month, TCAP sends out an e-newsletter covering major events in Texas electricity and advances in public policy. Sign up for the newsletter and check out old newsletters to get caught up on Texas energy.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This